view current print edition





IPC appoints three new commissioners

During the Idaho Potato Commission’s October meeting, three new commissioners were sworn in. Grower Julie VanOrden of Garth VanOrden Farms in Pingree; processor Paul Sato from McCain Foods USA Inc.; and shipper Bryan Wada of Wada Farms will each serve three-year terms. Nick Blanksma of Legacy Farms and Todd Cornelison of High Country Potatoes were appointed chairman and vice chairman, respectively.   prrriiimPat Kole, IPC's vice president of legal and government affairs, swears in new commissioners Julie VanOrden, Bryan Wada and Paul Sato.

“I’m pleased to welcome Julie, Paul and Bryan to the Idaho Potato Commission. From farming to processing to politics, their impressive backgrounds and experience will be instrumental as we develop and implement new marketing programs that will shape the future of Idaho’s most important agricultural product, the Idaho potato,” said Frank Muir, president and chief executive officer of the Idaho Potato Commission.

Every marketing program the IPC initiates, whether it’s advertising, public relations, retail promotions or social media, is designed to encourage folks to proactively look for the “Grown in Idaho” seal and meet at least one of four overarching goals:

  • Stimulate demand for all Idaho-branded potato products domestically and internationally
  • Educate consumers that Idaho potatoes are nutritious, heart-healthy, and relevant for today’s lifestyles
  • Build consumer and customer loyalty in seeking “Grown in Idaho” products
  • Increase grower understanding of, and support for, IPC programs

Nine commissioners represent Idaho potato growers, shippers and processors. They are nominated by industry peers and selected by Gov. Brad Little. The commissioners are:

  • Nick Blanksma (Legacy Farms) –chairman
  • Todd Cornelison (High Country Potatoes) –vice chairman
  • Mary Hasenoehrl (Gross Farms)
  • Randy Hardy (Hardy Farms)
  • Dan Nakamura (Idahoan Foods)
  • Brett Jensen (Jensen Farms)
  • Julie VanOrden (Garth VanOrden Farms)
  • Paul Sato (McCain Foods USA Inc.)
  • Bryan Wada (Wada Farms)