view current print edition




NAPAR elects new chairman, board members

The board of directors of the National Association of Perishable Agricultural Receivers, a fresh produce association that exclusively represents the interests of produce wholesalers and receivers, has elected a new chairman and first vice chairman of its board.

Matthew D’Arrigo, vice president of D’Arrigo Bros. Co. of New York, was elected chairman of NAPAR. D’Arrigo Bros. Co. of New York is a full-line wholesale produce distributor located on New York City's Hunts Point Market, one of the largest produce wholesale markets in the world.Matthew-DarrigoMatthew D’Arrigo

John Vena was elected to serve as first vice chairman of the board. Vena is president of John Vena Inc., which was founded in 1919 on the Philadelphia Wholesale Produce Market.John-VenaJohn Vena Jay Rosenstein, the president and chief executive officer of William Rosenstein & Sons, a Scranton, PA-based full-service produce distributor and national produce broker, was reelected to serve as second vice chairman.

D’Arrigo succeeds Joe Procacci, president and CEO of Procacci Bros. Sales Corp. of Philadelphia. Procacci remains active on the board as chairman emeritus.

The NAPAR Board also elected three new members: Rob Strube of Strube Celery & Vegetable Co. of Chicago, Dominic Russo of Rocky Produce from Detroit and Jeff (J.D.) Brown from Wakefern Food Corp. of New Jersey.